The judging panel for the 2011 EduBlog Awards has posted its final nominees in this year’s contest — and it’s great to see so many PLP friends and colleagues on the lists.

You can vote here for any or all of the 18 categories until 11:59 p.m., U.S. Eastern time, Tuesday, December 13.

I’m particularly proud that our group blog Voices from the Learning Revolution, launched just nine months ago, made the shortlist for Best Group Blog. With curation and editorial support from PLP consultant John Norton, we’ve posted more than 100 essays and articles written by nearly two dozen public and independent school teachers, principals, instructional and tech coaches and central office administrators. As one nominator (Tempered Radical Bill Ferriter) put it:

I’m still in the classroom full-time, so I understand better than most the sacrifices that we make when we choose to teach.  I also understand just how risky it can be to make our practice transparent in such a public way by choosing to blog.


That’s why the Voices from the Learning Revolution blog — a PLP Network project — means so much to me.  It’s chock-a-block FULL of real-live classroom teachers writing with great detail about their instructional practices — and it changes what I do in my own classroom almost every time that I stop by.

You can learn more about our Learning Revolution project and see a complete list of current Voices writers here. After you check out the blog, I hope you’ll consider casting your vote in support of this amazing writing community!

More PLP friends on the Awards shortlist!

Other folks involved in our Powerful Learning Practice communities who are nominated for EduBlog Awards this year include:

Best Teacher Blog (vote here)

Ann Michaelsen, Teaching English with Web 2.0
Shelley Wright, Wright’s Room

Best Student Blog (vote here)

Sara (Ann Michaelsen’s student)

Best Librarian Blog (vote here)

Jenny Luca, Lucacept

Best Class Blog (vote here)

Kathy Cassidy, Mrs. Cassidy’s Grade 1 Classroom Blog

Best Administrator Blog (vote here)

Lyn Hilt, The Principal’s Posts

Best Individual Blog (vote here)

Will Richardson, Read. Write. Connect. Learn.

Best Individual Tweeter (vote here)

Alec Couros, @courosa
Dean Shareski, @shareski

Most Influential Blog Post (vote here)

Will Richardson, “My Teacher Is an App”

Lifetime Achievement (vote here)

Bud (the Teacher) Hunt
Will Richardson
Dean Shareski

If I somehow missed a PLP friend (there are literally hundreds of nominees across the categories), please add yourself (and a link) in the comments below.

And congratulations to everyone who does the hard work of sharing and staying connected. We don’t do it for awards, but they often help us find new audiences.

The following two tabs change content below.
During a 25-year education career, Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach has been a classroom teacher, technology coach, charter school principal, district administrator, university instructor and digital learning consultant. Sheryl is the co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of Powerful Learning Practice, where she works with schools and districts from around the world to re-envision their learning cultures and communities through the Connected Learner Experience and other e-learning opportunities. She is the author (with Lani Ritter Hall) of The Connected Educator: Learning and Leading in a Digital Age (Solution Tree, 2012) and serves on the ISTE Board of Directors.
Share this: